The Japanese-Language Proficiency Test (JLPT)

The Japanese-Language Proficiency Test (JLPT) under joint organization of the Japan Foundation and Japan Educational Exchanges and Services was started in the year 1984. The test is to measure and certify the Japanese-language proficiency of those whose native language is not Japanese.

JLPT Structure

N5 (basic)

The ability to understand some basic Japanese.


The ability to understand basic Japanese.


The ability to understand Japanese used in everyday situations to a certain degree.


The ability to understand Japanese used in everyday situations, and in a variety of circumstances to a certain degree.

N1 (advanced)

The ability to understand Japanese used in a variety of circumstances.

A summary of linguistic competence required for each level

The tests are conducted in 5 levels ranging from N5 (basic) to N1 (advanced). N5 and N4 measure the level of understanding of basic Japanese. N1and N2 measure the level of understanding of Japanese used in a broad range in everyday life. N3 level bridges between N1/N2 and N4/N5 levels.

Certificates to successful candidates are issued by the organising body i.e., Japan Foundation, Japan. The amount of study, knowledge and skill required vary from level to level.

JLPT certificates offer various advantages, ranging from recognition as academic credit and graduation certification at schools to preferential treatment at companies and acknowledgement of qualification in society.

Japanese Language Proficiency Test (JLPT) are conducted on July & December every year. These tests are conducted throughout the world on the same day, i.e., 1st Sunday of July and December.

Preparations for those students who want to appear for these exams are being done by Sakura Learning Solutions. Sakura Learning Solutions also conducts other courses, trainings for all those who wish to learn Japanese language as per the needs.

Open chat